Giving the knees a rest (SUP and the adventures of the multi-vitamin aisle)

13 Apr

I’ve always been a bit sceptical about multi-vitamins, or perhaps, more cynical about the companies  persuading us we need the multi-vitamins. I was always of the school of thought: if you need to spend $50 on a tub of vitamin C and Echinacea then go and spend $2 on a bag of carrots. However, I admit, there are clearly circumstances when supplements are required and I confess, last year when I was run down with a virus that would not budge for weeks, I succumbed to a women’s multi-vitamin with Zinc to give me an added boost.

I think the reasons I’ve avoided fish oil were two-fold: First, I am useless at remembering to take pills and get into that routine where you must have one after each meal etc and second, I have always associated them with ageing. They are the things my dad took when his joints started to creak.

Then came my first knee twinge. After blogging about our running training for City2Surf, I am now looking to ease off the road running for a few days because knees (and James knows this more than anyone) are quite useful joints to have functioning well. I relented and figured that if I want to keep up this running lark, I should probably give the joints a helping hand.

Omega 3 Krill Oil

So it was, with some reluctance, I entered the domain of the vitamin aisle in the local pharmacy: shelves upon shelves, towering with an array of tubes, bottles and tubs of every type of supplement for every type of ailment or condition you could name. All I wanted was a month’s supply of fish oil but there were about twenty shelves of fish oil to choose from—and not just fish oil—now it’s krill oil they are waxing lyrical about. There are many more clinical studies on the benefits of fish oil but krill oil is the new darling of omega 3 supplements. It is supposedly much more potent than regular fish oil and has a 60% better absorption rate, depending what you read. Krill vs. Fish oil, I had no idea, but if it was a choice between needing one tablet or nine, I’ll go with one every time. For a doctor’s view on whether one is better than the other, I refer you to this blog.

I scanned the shelves and clearly my vacant stare and slack jaw drew pity from a sales assistant because she attempted to guide me through the minefield of krill oil options.

I ended up with a tub of Swisse 1000mg high strength wild krill oil for no other reasons than it is a reputable brand, the krill was ‘free range’ and as well as the usual benefits for the joints and heart, it claims to help ease symptoms at the ‘time of the month’. Hey, this was as much a pill for James as it was for me!

Sorry for banging on about krill but I shall report back on my findings (if I remember to take them everyday. Let’s face it, this will be no clinical trial or scientific study , but I may notice some improvements.)

So, in the name of protecting my knees, I ventured out on an SUP board this morning with James. This is great for core-strength and very low-impact (unless you fall in of course.) James did the usual race and is still getting to grips with his new racing board (did I mention he has bought a new toy for the garage?) and I pottered about happily in the bay and the sunshine, admiring the fish swimming about in the water and hoping I’ll soon be reaping the benefits thanks to their little crustacean cousins.

OZ SUP  Rose Bay

Rose Bay, Sydney

SUP racing board

Louise SUP

Leave a reply

