The Home Front

20 Nov

The men may go out and ‘protect the nation’ and do all the macho stuff but they would not do so well without someone lining their stomachs and so Navy wives have their duties too. This I discovered when asked if I could ‘just bake something’ for when an Admiral comes to visit the base this week and after some subtle hints about how ‘chocolate brownies and cookies go down very well with the guys’.

Further hints were not needed and although I was tempted to point out that he knows where the oven is – go for it – I realise knowing where it is, is different to knowing how it works. So, a tin of brownies and chocolate chip and nut cookies were ready to go on Monday morning and today there is an apple and cinnamon cake waiting for morning tea with the Admiral tomorrow. I can only hope it passes muster but then I did get the recipe from a site, claiming it was the ‘best apple cake in the whole world’. This is quite a claim so we shall see how it goes down.

Unfortunately I can’t slice it open to try it but I thought I’d share it with you because it actually smells delicious and seeing as I won’t get to try any – maybe one of you can bake it and tell me!

http://www.marthastewart.com/351254/apple-spice-cake?autonomy_kw=apple%20cake

Just to note, the measurements are in cups so here is roughly what I’d use:

  •  300 ml oil / 1 1/3 cups (canola or vegetable)
  • 300g flour / 3 cups (I used self raising but the recipe calls for plain with baking soda and salt)
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 3 large eggs
  • 425g / 2 cups caster sugar
  • 3-4 apples (I only needed 2 fairly large Granny Smiths and it was plenty)
  • 1 cup chopped nuts
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Oven at 180 and although it suggests 75 – 90 min, I found 50 minutes was enough and the batter is quite thick but the water from the apples adds moisture when baking.

Don’t worry – I’m not about to become a cooking blog but I have started enjoying baking a lot more and trying out different recipes. Next to try are macaroons – could be a bit ambitious!

 

One Response to “The Home Front”

Leave a reply

