Convalescent Leave

6 Jul

Having had almost 10 days sitting around with my feet up following a knee operation I thought it was about time to knock out a quick post on our blog.  Louise has been doing an excellent job keeping the site up to date and a warning to you all that this will be no where near as well written or interesting as what you normally read.

My knee operation took place last Tuesday and it seems to have gone well.  The operation was to remove part of my patellar that had been fractured during my debut lacrosse match for the RN in Nov 2007.  Needless to say this was my one and only time that I have played that game.  The RAN sent me to one of Sydney’s top knee surgeons to get fixed and so far so good.  I have been doing a little more everyday and now seem able to walk pretty freely and even drove yesterday – which was perhaps a little premature as my knee feels sore this morning!  The time off work has been a nice break and I have enjoyed the opportunity of being at home spending some time with Louise (who has been looking after me tirelessly) and getting lots of reading done.

The operation was timed to coincide with me leaving HMAS Newcastle, so next week when I go back to work I will be working from an office in Naval base.  I have been asked to work on a project for one of the Commodores in relation to some of things we have done this year on the Ship.  It will hopefully be quite interesting and will tie me over until I begin my course in October at HMAS Watson.   Leaving Newcastle was a little sad as it was a happy Ship and I had had a good time with her, but I was getting a little stale in the job and felt the need to move on to newer pastures.  I am not sure if Louise mentioned this but I have been given a job on the teaching staff at the PWO school which begins in April next year once I complete the course I mentioned.  I was very pleased to get the job; a welcome spell ashore plus the opportunity to do something slightly different and put my experience as a PWO into good use (I hope).

I am soon to start my Postgraduate Diploma in Management and Strategy with the first course beginning at the end of the month. As a prologue to this, I submitted an article, which was published in a Navy magazine, in response to an Admiral on PWO training. I hope the Admiral will accept my argument and I haven’t stuck my neck out too far in this early stage in my career!

Aside from work and the knee life is going nicely, we are very happy with our flat here in Rose Bay, although it is pretty chilly at this time of year and these houses were never designed to keep any heat in!  But the sun is shinning and spring is just around the corner.  Louise is at the gym and I am about to carry on with some more reading  – currently I am engrossed with Field Marshall Slim’s book on the Burma campaign of WWII – fascinating.

Now that I am shore based I hope to blog more regularly…

One Response to “Convalescent Leave”

  1. Richard Biffen July 6, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    As you said….not as good as the blogs from Louise, but a good start! 😉 Off to look after the Olympic torch now, followed by the Thai royals (an interesting week) – speak soon mate and pleased all is going well with the recovery.

Leave a reply

