Call me crazy…

30 May

When we first arrived in Australia, I heard about an event called City2Surf. In fact we had missed it by just two weeks and I remember thinking it sounded like quite a fun event, perhaps something I or both of us could do one day. Well, nine months down the track, entries for City2Surf 2012 opened and I decided to give it a go.

Now, the distance may not seem huge, in fact it is only 14km so not even a half marathon, but when I say the course route is undulating, I’m not doing those hills justice. Put it this way, there is a 2km section of the route, which would send even hardened athletes running for the fens of England, called Heartbreak Hill. It’s the kind of incline, which causes some cars to groan heading up and it’s one horrific hill start if you have the misfortune of having to stop half way. Cruelly, it is at the halfway point of the route so there’s no respite at the top and the rest of the route is hardly flat. As much as I like going for an occasional run, I live just 1km from the start of Heartbreak Hill and would rather add a few more miles to my route to circumnavigate the thing rather than run up it. Hopefully I have now assured you that this will be quite a challenge for me.

Graph showing elevation of City2Surf course

Graph showing elevation of City2Surf course

The run is on August 12th so I have two months to get into practise and I thought while I was at it, it would be a good opportunity to raise some money for charity. I opted for an organisation in Australia called beyondblue, which helps treat, promote awareness of and prevent mental illness and depression in all its forms. Personally I would question the state of my own mental health having signed up to this but now it’s done, the entry fee is paid and I am committed!

This will be my first race and as it is the largest annual, timed running event in the world (around 80,000 participants) it is sure to be quite an experience. As I have no previous recorded times I am running in the group, which needs no qualifying time, so for anyone running for 90-120 minutes. I’d hope to be closer to the 90 minute mark but you never know. If the hills don’t break my heart, they may just break my will…

My finishing line cheering committee (ie. James) will hopefully be waiting at Bondi Beach, whatever the weather… Fingers crossed for sunshine.

So for more details of the event and my fundraising, here I come rattling my tin: http://www.fundraise.city2surf.com.au/louise_edmondson

Leave a reply

