Navy wives do not mow lawns

4 Apr

With James away, there are inevitably jobs to do, which usually the ‘man of the house’ would take care of. I’m not one of these people who can’t or refuses to do these things and have always had to get on and do them in the past anyway so sorting out car tyres and that sort of thing, well, you just get on and do them.

That was until the other day when I was confronted by my neighbour, who I have to mention is really friendly but seemed absolutely outraged that I was in the front garden holding a strimmer.

“Stop!”

“Hi!”

“Don’t do that. Seriously, Alfie will come round and do it.”

“Oh, it’s fine. Don’t worry.”

“Louise, Navy wives do not mow lawns. It’s the law.”

Well that was me told and despite my protests, Alfie showed up the following morning with his four year-old son in tow, to come and cut the grass.

Stereotypical gender roles? Well, Alfie got started on the lawn, while I gave a little boy apple juice and struggled to find cartoons on one one of the digital channels.

Hmmmm.

Of course, I was very grateful for someone helping me out and have to admit, he probably did a better job than I would have!

It got me wondering what other ‘laws’ I’ve missed out on and how much time I might have wasted washing the car, climbing ladders to change light bulbs and taking all the buildings’ bins out.

On a serious note, it is reassuring knowing there are people looking out for us ‘Navy wives’.

One Response to “Navy wives do not mow lawns”

  1. Jeangoss April 4, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    How about sweeping the patio and cleaning the windows? I can think of all sorts of things a Navy wife shouldn’t do!!!

Leave a reply

