Women On Wheels

9 Nov

‘G’day – so what can I do for you?’

‘I’m not sure… My husband says the car’s making a funny noise.’

Incredulous stare.

‘OK. Any particular noise?’

‘There’s this clicking sound when we turn the car.’

(I detect slight eye roll, intake of breath)

‘OK. Everytime you turn the car?’

‘No, just on a hard right lock’

‘Right, ok. I think I know what that is.’

‘Oh – what’s that?’

(Are you seriously going to understand look)

‘Well, it sounds like the constant-velocity joint is damaged.’

‘Ah’ (Knowing nod) ‘A small job?’

‘Actually, quite a big one. But we can have it done by the end of the day.’

‘Oh. Thanks’

‘Just sign this form here… Oh and you may want to take one of these’

As I go to leave, I get handed a flyer.

The gist of it was: ‘Know b****r all about cars… Come to one of our FREE workshops’.

It struck me that with the distances required to get just from one town to the next in Australia, James away quite a bit and perhaps, just the nature of my driving and general ignorance, I should probably give it a go. Besides, it was free.

That is how I ended up at a Women On Wheels workshop last night.

I also roped in my friend, Sophie, who seemed a lot more knowledgeable than me (she has changed a tyre before).

Two hours later, I had had a go at jacking up a car, taking a tyre off, putting a new one on, checking the tyre pressure, learnt how to jump start a car, and looked at the underbelly of a ute.

I don’t know if the latter will ever be useful to me but don’t try and engage me in conversation about differentials, shock absorbers or cooling systems any more, or you may not hear the end of it!

As for those CV joints – just hand me the drive shaft, show me the stub shaft and call me Jeremy Clarkson.

2 Responses to “Women On Wheels”

  1. Richard Biffen November 11, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

    I am impressed! Might get Myri on one…somehow I doubt they do them in England and the mexican version doesn’t bare thinking about!

  2. Louise & James November 25, 2011 at 12:43 am #

    Ha ha… Gaffa tape and a bit of string is all you need, right?!

Leave a reply

