Armed and Dangerous

17 Oct

James might be the one trained to fire weapons but I may be firing my own if Australia’s wildlife wanders into my territory. While James is away on a firefighting course he left me with a parting gift, should I get into any trouble in his absence:

They do say you need to adapt to living in your new environment but when that new environment includes all manner of potentially deadly creepy crawlies – I am taking no risks!

On that note, so far, I’ve not had to deal with anything more than a couple of cockroaches and a few rather harmless jellyfish on the beach (although I note the beach was called Shark Bay):

I am trying to ignore the fact I am living in a country with some of the world’s most painful and poisonous creatures: snakes, spiders, sharks, box jellyfish to name a few.

As people who both love the water, we now have to be aware that stepping in it could lead to serious injury or even death. If you’re not attacked by a shark or a crocodile or stung by a jellyfish then you might just get dragged out to sea by a rip current. So far, there doesn’t seem to be a spray that can help me on those fronts so I will just have to take my chances.

One Response to “Armed and Dangerous”

  1. Jean October 17, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    Hope you don’t need to fire your deadly weapon.

Leave a reply

